#10 - Dario Franchitti
Racing Woodys.com/Racing Woodys racing collectibles     19975 McAllister Battle Creek Mi 49014  517-507-6086
This website is designed and maintained by Racing Woody. 2010 All rights reserved. Do not duplicate or
redistribute without permission or credit.
Launch date August 4, 2009.  Hosted by Yahoo
Birthdate: May 19, 1973
Hometown: Edinburgh, Scotland
Team: Chip Ganassi Racing
Three-time and reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion and two-time and reigning Indianapolis 500 winner
Dario Franchitti returns to Target Chip Ganassi Racing (TCGR) in 2011 for his third season alongside teammate
Scott Dixon.

Since joining TCGR in 2009, Franchitti has delivered back-to-back IZOD IndyCar Series titles, including eight
wins and the 2010 Indianapolis 500. Franchitti’s 2010 championship season marked his third consecutive
championship in the series, as he spent the 2008 season in NASCAR.  He is one of only five drivers to win the
Indianapolis 500 and the series title in the same season more than once.

The Scotland native has 218 starts under his belt between CART and the IZOD IndyCar Series resulting in 27
wins, 25 poles, 97 top-five and 137 top-10 finishes (1997-2011).  He is the winningest driver in U.S. open-wheel
history from Great Britain.  Over the course of his open-wheel career, Franchitti has accumulated a wealth of
experience and trophies in his time on the track, winning races on road courses, street courses, short ovals and
superspeedways and he is one of only 12 drivers to win a race in the IndyCar Series and CART.

The 2010 season started in unspectacular fashion, as Dario and Team Target posted one pole position and three
Top-5 finishes.  It was a different story at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.  After starting in the front row from
third position, Dario quickly went to the front of the field, led 155 out of the 200 laps and went on to win his
second Indy 500 in four years.  With wins at Mid-Ohio and Chicago, Dario set up an epic championship battle
with Will Power of Team Penske Racing at the season finale in Homestead, Fla.  Dario drove a calculated,
mistake-free race and by finishing eighth, he overhauled Power's 12 point lead to capture his third career
IndyCar Series driver's championship.

In 2009, after transitioning from the Ganassi team’s NASCAR program in 2008, the 2007 Indianapolis 500 and
IndyCar Series Champion returned to open wheel racing alongside reigning Indianapolis 500 and IndyCar Series
Champion, Scott Dixon.  Dario captured five race wins (Long Beach, Iowa, Toronto, Sonoma and Homestead) and
posted five pole positions.  He finished 16 of the 17 races, recorded 13 Top-5 finishes, 15 Top-10 finished and led
495 laps.  Not bad for a driver who spent a year away from IndyCars...

Before trying his hand in the world of stock car racing, Franchitti posted four wins and four pole positions in
2007, en route to his first IndyCar Series championship with Andretti Green Racing.

With everyone in the IndyCar Series paddock gunning for the three-time champion in 2011, Dario will still be an
odds-on favorite to capture his third Borg Warner Trophy at Indianapolis.  And who knows, with hard work,
perseverance, a little luck and a tireless will to win, Dario may just become the first driver in the history of the
IndyCar Series to win four career championships...
You need Java to see this applet.